Spring Green Risotto Served With Agave Roasted Parsnips and Lemon Zest

I’m obsessed with food,  all I watch are cooking shows, it’s where I find inspiration and also where I find ways to veganize my favourite dishes.

Anything, you name it – I will find a way to make it Vegan.

It was about two months ago and I’m watching my favourite American Chef cooking some deliciously buttery and rich pasta dish using orzo. (Orzo are small pieces of pasta shaped like rice or barley) I’m watching this show thinking – WOW that’s a lot of butter but I bet it makes the dish rich and flavourful, I bet I could make it Vegan, and so the challenge began.

This is my vegan take on a zesty spring dish, Say Hello to my Vegan Risotto.

 

Ingredients:

SERVES 4

  • 1 Cup Peas or broad beans
  • 180g Risotto
  • 500ml Hot stock water
  • 5 mini courgettes
  • 4 large parsnip
  • 1 spanish onion
  • 40ml Agave Syrup
  • 30ml Olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Parsley – For garnish
  • Garlic –  When it comes to garlic, the more the merrier – therefore ill never state one clove or two, put in as much or as little as you like.

Method :

  • Prepare the parsnips, peel and dice into small cubes, tossing them in oil and agave syrup – place on baking tray and roast for 20-25 mins at 190*C.
  • Then lightly fry the onions, garlic adding salt and pepper to taste
  • Once sautéed until golden add in the risotto rice, make sure to mix in throughly and evenly, at this point to get that buttery flavour you can add diary free butter, around two tablespoons.
  • Cut the courgettes into thin slices and dry fry using a griddle pan to get that chargrilled look, cook for 10 mins until chargrilled.
  • Prepare your stock with the recommended amount of water, you can use stock cubes or homemade stock.
  • Add the stock in gradually , bit by bit until the rice has absorbed all of the liquid and the rice becomes soft.
  • Add in 1 cup of peas / broad beans.
  • Mix evenly and let simmer for a few minuets to cook off the vegetables.
  • Turn off the heat of the pan, and add in the lemon zest, optional – add in the juice of half a lemon to get that extra taste.
  • Garnish with chopped parsley and ENJOY

 

IMG_1417

Leave a Reply

